Welcome Back Taylor Swift

Stop. The. Presses.

Taylor Swift is back on streaming services!

Yes! You can now stream any TS song, from any era, on Spotify, Tidal and Apple Music. Swift says it’s a “gift” to her fans for helping her sell 10 million copies of her 2014 album 1989 and making it reach the RIAA’s 100 Million Song Certification.

Quick reminder, Swift initially pulled her music from free sites like Spotify in 2015 in efforts to get more people to buy music.

“Piracy, file sharing, and streaming have shrunk the numbers of paid album sales drastically, and every artist has handled this blow differently,” she wrote in her open letter published in the Wall Street Journal.

Also, remember Swift is one of the few pop stars who has writing credits on the majority of her songs. When so unlike some people in the music business, Taylor rakes in a lot of money from her music.

IMG_3122

Now, Taylor Swift is not everybody’s favorite person and that’s totally understandable. There’s a quite a bit to not like about her. But that doesn’t mean she doesn’t have one of the best catalogs in pop music.

I’ve been a Taylor Swift fan for 10 whole years. I knew her when she was still peddling music on MySpace and she was trademarked by her curly blonde hair. I knew her before she was selling out stadiums.  And for me, it was also about her music.

How I see Taylor now has changed a lot. It’s no longer easy to defend her, it’s harder to ignore her conflicting messages. I do know one thing, she’s always been able to speak to me through her music. We have nothing in common, she’s a tall blonde white girl from Pennslyvania and I’m a short black girl from Maryland. But her lyrics have always gotten to me.

“[Music captures] the most beautiful incredible moments of our lives. But also the most terrible, unexepected and confusing moments of our lives. And I bet every single one of you have a song that you correlate with your first heartbreak, or the days you really didn’t want to get up and go to school or go to work because you really didn’t feel like you fit in. Or song that reminds of that perfect first kiss that you had when you were in high school. Or the person you were in love with but you were too afraid to tell them. And I just want to tell that if any one of those songs that you correlate with your memories are mine, I consider it the highest honor, so thank you.

-Taylor Swift at the 1989 Tour in DC 7/14/15

So yes, she might be associated with the snake emoji now, but that snake is the woman behind some of my favorite songs, and even though I own every album, and listen to the radio, I’m glad I can stream some of my favorite songs of all time.

TOP TAY TUNES

Apple Music
Spotify

Leave a Reply

