Song of the Week: Green Light

Not the iconic B’Day song Green light.

But Green Light by Lorde!

I have never been a Lorde fan. Royals dropped when I was still in high school and it was before my music palet expanded. I never disliked Lorde, although I was not a fan of her fashion sense or spastic singing habits. I would bop my head like Jay Z listening to Coldplay if Team played in the car or Tennis Courts came on Haim Pandora.

Neither song was enough to make me want to hear it on a loop or compelled to write about it.

But Green Light is different. The song’s production is typical of the 2010s electropop sound but its lyrics are fresh.

“But those rumors they have big teeth”

“Honey I’ll be seeing you, but I can’t let go.”

Lorde told Zane Lowe that the song was like the  “drunk girl at the party dancing around crying about her ex-boyfriend who everyone thinks is a mess.” and that it represented  “her tonight and tomorrow she starts to rebuild.”

Instead of the sad depressed girl trope, Lorde creates a character who has the longing for her old relationship but the strength to be strong and move on.

The song is a true millennial break up power song. It’s no surprise that the track was co-written by Jack Antonoff, who when not dating Lena Dunham, writes great pop songs. He co-wrote three of my favorite songs from 1989, and so it’s no surprise that many feel like GL is a rip off of a Taylor Swift song. The two girls are good friends, yes, but this song is not a Swift knock off. It takes the alt-pop writing of Lorde and combines it with a fresher sound that fits in 2017.

The song is very Summer/Spring, which works perfectly with this bizarre warm weather we’ve been having. I can’t wait to add it to my Summer driving playlist. And it wasn’t nearly as emotionally triggering as the second release “Liability.”I knew it was going to be a favorite of mine when I found myself humming the melody on the way to class. And her SNL performance this week was spectacular.

Lorde’s freshman debut won her a boatload of Grammy trophies, I’m ready to see what Melodrama brings.

Leave a Reply

